The Sanna Tup

It has been quite an interesting day in a beautiful part of the Highlands. You cannot go much further west than this on the Scottish mainland. The geologists out there may correct me but I think we are on the rim of a gaint volcano here too. Its worth a look on Google Earth to see what I mean.

In connection with our site work I was given some information by a local farmer who gave me a lot of his time to walk the area with me and impart his local knowledge. We crossed his field which had sme very tame sheep; three ewes and a tup (Scottish term for male sheep or ram). G explained that the normally friendly tup had bashed him on the side of the thigh recently and given him a dead leg; "so just to be aware". Later in the day I needed to enter the same field and the sheep all came running expecting me to feed them. The girls were friendly almost looking to get attention like a labrador but the tup came and stood right in front of me.
Next thing he started to repeatedly bash his big horns in to my survey pole. I shouted very loud swear words at him and shooed him away. He then turned head on to one of the ewes (she did the same) and there was another almighty clash of horns as they bashed one another. I walked briskly to the gate watching over my shoulder all the time.

I didn't have that in my risk assessment for today.  Tup is far left in extra. Other extra is the Sanna beach

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.