Stavros S Niarchos in Campbeltown Loch

10.6C and mostly bright with long sunny spells. Occasionally light showers through the morning. Moderate NW/WNW/W breeze with gusts to 31 mph.

Maeve the Deerhound woke at around 4.30am. I got her to go back to her bed and she was ok then until 7am. We went for a walk. She managed better than of late.

Maeve and I went for a walk after lunch. We went round to the harbour because I had seen the masts for what looked like a tall ship from the upstairs front windows earlier. As we slowly made our way up the old quay I could see over the buildings the masts heading away across the loch. By the time we got to the end of the quay the ship was almost passing the shipyard. I just had time to get a few pictures. We wandered back home along Longrow. Maeve was slow but managing very well.

Before I could get a chance to go out for a walk myself Maeve was unwell again. Once she settled I tidied round and stayed with her for a while. She followed me when I went to do the dishes and came back to the living room afterwards. I sat with her again. She was very alert for a while but has since settled.

I hadn't mentioned but on Sunday we thought she had fallen on the wooden floor at the living room door while we were out as she was lying there looking a bit forlorn when we got back from the beach but now I have to think she had been unwell ... and alone.

Podcast of BBC Radio 4's Desert Island Discs on the Clip (as we walked):
Cris Packam. English naturalist, nature photographer, television presenter and author, best known for his television work including the children's nature series The Really Wild Show from 1986 to 1995. He has presented the BBC nature series Springwatch since 2009.

Afternoon music ... well none. I watched afternoon telly while I was sitting with Maeve.

DMC-LX7 f/4 1/1600 sec. ISO-80 18mm (35mm focal length 180mm)

Note:
Stavros S Niarchos
Sailing Vessel
Call Sign: MZIU7
Flag: United Kingdom [GB]
AIS Type: Sailing Vessel
Gross Tonnage: 493
Deadweight: 60 t
Length Overall x Breadth Extreme: 59.35m × 9.98m
Year Built: 2000

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.