The Queen Elizabeth University Hospital

Off with my mum to see the consultant today, very nice doctor seen with a future plan, inc. an ultrasound. All done rather efficiently and effectively.

Though the staff are excellent and friendly, this hospital will never be loved by many people. It's modern, but seems too large ... there are no travelators to help frail and ill people cover the long walking distances and the signage is abysmal ... and they wonder why people get lost and infuriated (an inaccurate map was sent out which led us to maternity, which is a long way to where we should have been!).

Also, through centralisation of services, this means that people have to travel much longer geographical distances to get to appointments, many of which are quite early. I can't see how a £4O taxi fair to make sure you get to the hospital on time is very person-centered. I often wonder if they take patients and carers views seriously into account when planning these places!

I may sound annoyed, and yes, I am ... Patient Opinion here I come ...

Rant over, I hope you have all had a nice day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.