BAMBI

or rather Faline, the daughter of his aunt with whom Bambi in the Felix Salten stories falls in love with and has children with.
Since how many years I have on the bookshelves two books of Felix Salten, one titled Bambi and another Bambi's children? 60 Years perhaps and I never had read them. As a child I had seen the Walt Disney Bambi film and had felt strong emotions of all the perils and happy moments of the animals in the forest. I evidently had recoiled for the reading and reviving of the adventures.
Felix Salten (ps. of Siegmund Salzmann) lived from 1869 till 1945. Born in Budapest but the family had moved to Vienna after his birth because of the better conditions there for Jews. He started to write plays, short stories, novels and essyas and for papers. In 1923 Bambi was published and in 1928 translated in english. In 1936 the books of Salten were banned by A. Hitler and in 1938 Salten fled to Switzerland, where he lived till his death.
I have never seen (remember I have been a child of a bookseller and became one myself when 18) one of the other books of Salten and I now think that a rather strange fact.
And now I find myself reading Bambi, in english, with a foreword of John Galsworthy, illustrated by Kurt Wiese.
Galsworthy says: Bambi is a delicious book. For delicacy of perfection and essential truth I hardly know any story of animals that can stand beside this life study of a forest deer.
Chapter I: He came into the world in the middle of the thicket, in one of those little, hidden forest glades which seem to be entirely open, but are really screened in on all sides.
I read slowly (in bed) before falling in sleep and little pieces of the time. I am sensitive to and overwhelmed by the lovely tone of the narrator. The conversations between the different animals, the happy but also the most cruel adventures, and the description of the alternating seasons, I love it all.
Bambi's Children was published in 1939.
Being in Blipland made me start to read Bambi, obvious enough to me.

My haiku:

Malieveld The Hague
Hertenkamp as it is called
Safe home for the deers

Hert = deer in dutch

And the spanish proverb:

The day I did not sweep my house, unexpected visitors came.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.