Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

895. Blue Topaz Ring

I love this ring...my husband bought it for me in Estonia in 2005 and I remember the tiny shop we bought it in...we had been looking through the window and it was so dark inside we thought it was closed...so started to move on when the owner came out and called us back telling us that the shop was open!  We originally thought it was aquamarine as the language barrier prevented us from finding out exactly what the stone was....and it cost so little...I honestly thought it was a man made stone.  On our return to Scotland I took it into my usual jeweller to get it sized up as it was just a little bit too tight....and it was a tricky job because the hallmarks were on the outside of the ring rather than inside and I wanted to preserve them.  They offered to do a valuation on it which I thought was odd as I we'd paid less than £200 for it which I thought was mainly because it was 14ct gold....I was so shocked when the came back and not only told me it was blue topaz but that it was worth quite a lot more than hubby had paid for it!
Sometimes you just have to take a leap of faith with these sorts of purchases and I'm very careful about buying jewellery abroad but I just fell in love with the style of this ring....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.