Small Tortoiseshell

It's been a lovely sunny day for butterflies. In the past I have blipped a small copper, a speckled wood (twice), an orange tip, a gate keeper, a wall brown and a red admiral, but never before a small tortoiseshell (Aglais urticae), amazingly enough! So here it is, with a lovely strong shadow.

I was enjoying pottering in the garden until the neighbour across the field lit a huge, smelly bonfire, whose thick smoke blotted out the view of the sea and forced us to get the washing in PDQ! Been belching billowing smoke for hours now, and we've had to shut all our windows on the warmest day for ages!

Why is it that we wait for days - weeks sometimes - till the wind is in the right direction to avoid inconveniencing others, and they show no such consideration? Bah, humbug!

Been to the doctor today - first time I've been able to get in and out of a car (Mr PP chauffered me; not ready for pedal-action yet). Apparently, it's 'mechanical back pain' and I'm doing all the right things, so it's just a matter of time and patience. Sadly, I shall miss my lovely line dancing for the second week running walking. (See, can't even run, never mind dance!) OTOH, I am getting better slowly, so hoorah for that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.