Wild Violets

Wild violets show up in my garden almost every year; the internet identified this plant as a weed and I suppose it does have weed like qualities, but the flowers are really pretty. I do pull it out of areas where I don't want it, but I leave it is some open spaces; this one is growing under my Japanese Maple tree. As you can see, I leave the leaves from the maple  to decompose and nourish the ground in place; but honestly these leaves are very slow to decompose so I hesitate to put them in my compose bin. My gardener has a difficult time getting that i don't want him raking up all the leaves; I guess most people want them gone? He leaves them for awhile, but if he has a helper the leaves seem to be raked automatically if I am not here. Oh well, I am just delighted to have the help! 
Thanks for all your kind comments lately and for sprinkling of stars and hearts. Your encouragement is greatly appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.