Belvedere Mill and its millpond, Chalford

It has been a wonderful day with clear blue sky and an early spring  warmth. I drove up the Golden Valley to Chalford to explore the canal and the River Frome which are side by side as they traverse the narrow valley in which the village is sited on the steep south facing hillside.

I popped in to see Andrew and Lenny, but Andrew is away in France and Lenny was busy with important 'village business'. They live on the banks of the river and I headed down the towpath of the canal which lies between the two. I had recently looked at a picture book about the history of the Thames and Severn Canal and wanted to see how the contemporary views compare to the old images some of them from the late 19th century onwards.

I had a great time ambling slowly and stopping to take pictures without the presence of the leaves of trees to obscure the views. I used one camera when heading from east to west and then on my return changed to my other camera. I have added a couple of 'Extra photos', the first being of the very early (1795) Clowes Bridge which allowed an old footpath to continue  across the canal, which i gather is an important bridge historically.

I later stopped just to the west of Chalford where the valley widens as the river grows in size from the increase in water supply from the abundant springs in that area. I had seen old pictures of the Roundhouse, an early canalside dwelling for a working family, so I took a picture from the river side, as the light was better from there.  I've also added that to the 'Extras'. 

Beside the roundhouse is an ancient lane which crosses the river over another old stone bridge to ascend the hillside leading to Minchinhampton Common. I stood on the low parapet of the bridge and took this picture of Belvedere Mill and its millpond as I liked the light, despite the facing wall of the mill being in shadow. I've blipped this mill several times over the years but each time I've recorded different characteristics. The mill is fully restored and now houses a very successful business. All the mills have had multiple uses over their lifespans in order to survive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.