A Chyld

The new guidebook for Cullen Auld Kirk is nearing completion.

The original idea was for it to be monochrome throughout, with coloured front and back covers. The author has now decided, though, to add an 8-page colour photo section.

While I'm delighted and flattered to be able to showcase more of my work, I found myself wishing I'd anticipated this before - because I'd already provided my best shots as b&w to be embedded in the text! I've gone back and taken  a few more, though, and I should have a draft of the colour section complete by Monday. 

One thing I'm including is a collection of shots from the churchyard, mostly details from tombstones and monuments. It was beautifully sunny today, and as the light was ideal for bringing out carvings and inscriptions, I spent half an hour collecting a few more of these.

I've never noticed this stone before; although it's just beside the church door, it's quite small and tucked in at the end of one of the "table" graves. When I read the inscription, I found it very sad and moving - but definitely one to be included.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.