Fire

I woke from a bad dream, the sort of dream that you don't want to drift back into. Then I saw from the open window that the sky to the east was completely orange and the air smelling of smoke. In a panic I ran up the hill and realised the a great wall of fire was only 30m from our fence, I called the fire brigade who arrived from Bantry so quickly. Luckily the farm has a network of pathways which makes access to the mountain easier and we managed to get above all the woodlands and watch as the fire swept into the land, it was sickening to see all my fiancé posts burning but worst of all hearing all the birds in the hedge row calling. Some flew away maybe some remained on their nests the wrens and stonechats that I see so often here.
The firemen control fire with fire and they set a fire which burned to meet the advancing fire creating a fire break. It worked and two hours later the fire was quenched and the woodland saved. All of them came down to the house for. Coffee and chat, I was so relieved and very grateful as they are all volunteers and it was the second time this night that they had been called out, we were all going to be pretty exhausted for the day jobs!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.