RavensRoost

By RavensRoost

The Wonder of Clouds

These massive cloud formations dwarf Mt. Adams in the bottom left of this photo. (Mt. Adams stands at 12, 280 feet / 3742.944 meters)


To find yourself in the infinite,
You must distinguish and then combine;
Therefore my winged song thanks
The man who distinguished cloud from cloud.

- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

A poem written by Goethe about Luke Howard, a young amateur meteorologist who pioneered a classification system for clouds. 

(See How the Clouds Got Their Names and How Goethe Popularized Them with His Science-Inspired Poems).

Thank you for your stars and hearts for yesterday's blip "Roses and Scarf", and your well-wishes for Jeff's and my birthdays. 

Today I received a package of delicious dried Blenheim apricots from my sister Sue. These apricots come from the area where we grew up.They have a delightful fragrance and are tangy yet sweet. They have a complex flavor profile that the imported Turkish dried apricots can't match.

Jeff and I enjoyed a short hike today and I came upon some false morel mushrooms, shown in the extra.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.