End of the line

Stunning day, even with a sore throat. I rise late, suck a Tyrozet, and carry on preparations in the polytunnel. It's hot in there.

Claire heads for the first sailing meet of the season at Musselburgh. Angus finishes off a maths paper and works on the path to his hut.

Early afternoon Hamish rings to invite Angus Go-Karting. I hand Angus over in Biggar and I head back to my tunnel. Claire returns with fish and goes back to lesson planning.

Later, Angus phones from the train and I drive to Lanark to meet him. The views on the way are spectacular. Around the station, though, Lanark is not well presented. A dilapidated bingo hall faces the entrance. A closed and boarded hotel lurks beside it, with pigeons staring gloomily from a top floor broken window.

At home, I cook chips and breaded haddock. Claire indulged in the Galapagos while I pick up Stephenson's mighty Anathem again - it might be time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.