Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

My Father's Archives #23

The original slide is in bad conditions. I had to process it in Nik's Silver Efex to rescue some details and recreate the atmosphere of the original (in colours).

The trip to the Amazon with my Dad is approaching fast (I'll be flying to Marabá in the state of Pará on April 26th), where I'll meet my Dad the next day. Together we will then continue by bus to São Félix do Xingú, where we will be greeted by some 40 members of the Kayapó-tribe. That's all I know. Everything else is unscripted. I don't know if I'll have the opportunity to fly into one of the Kayapó-villages. And when I told my Dad that I'd love to make an excursion into the jungle itself, he told me that nowadays São Félix is surrounded by big farms and I'd have to make a 4-hour-boattrip upriver just to get past the farmland. 

Anyway, a lot of childhood memories are resurfacing these days and I'm sure many of them will be rewritten. Can't wait to see my Dad again. Haven't seen him for two years. Can't wait to see my Indian friends again. Haven't seen them for almost thirty years. And can't wait to see the River again - another metaphor life has given me to teach me that it carries me.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.