El Camino

By AndrewForbes

'Our tree'

It's funny how little corners of the world can have sentimental significance isn't it?

This ancient cork oak is our favourite. It is solitary, on a wide fire break over looking the coast, about 300 metres from the forest
We've had many happy picnics sitting in its shade, watching the sun set over Africa - magical.

Despite the destruction from the wildfire this oak escaped - it's burnt but will surely recovery as it still has its scorched leaves attached, a good sign.

I gave it a huge hug!(as I often do - scary ugh?) My arms don't even reach half way round!

Also, the ancient old fellow I featured a few weeks ago escaped completely - miraculous as all around is completely burnt.

The tree house I published a while back is history - in fact the neighbour's house is almost gutted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.