memento

By memento

Memento

When my cell phone rang, my hands were full so I let it go to voice messaging. The number seemed familiar.. I realized it was the vet's office. Why would they be calling me? It's been three weeks since we had to put Smudge to sleep. Why would they possibly be calling me? The pain of having to do that is still pretty raw. Is there some unpaid bill from the last few weeks of her life when we were desperately trying to make her better?

The message wasn't very clear...it sounded like: Hi C, Smudge's right paw is ready to be picked up. I nearly threw up and called them back. They explained that they make a clay, CLAY!!! paw print of your deceased pet's right front paw as a last memento, for free.

Switching between being creeped out and welling up all over again, I decided to pick it up. I touch the little print many times a day and find some odd comfort in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.