Mr John

By MrJohn

Slow .....

..... bike ride.

I've had a lovely relaxed day off today. This morning I had a lie in and then met up with the P's and Mr M for a long pub brunch. I spotted the Olympic knitted tree art for the firt time, ( that a few local blippers have already blipped ) each medalist has a pom pom in a gold silver or bronze colour to represent the medal they have won and noticed that the tree for the Paralympics has no pompoms for the medalists, just laminated notices saying who has won what. I may have to make a few pom poms to hang on the tree.

After lunch I had a wander around town and a trip in to the town hall to pay off the balance of my council tax and water rates for the reast of the year, that's those two bills that I wont have going out each month until next April and it's also wiped out all the extra overtime pay I earned next month that I expect would have been better spent treating myself to a holiday. I'm a bit to sensible with money sometimes and maybe should spend it on fun things once in a while ( the bills still would have gotten paid ).

This evening I've had a bike ride with Alison. Todays route was one we call the Burley ride, it's just a short route in three parts. The first third is a steady uphill climb until we end up on the road just above the cow and calf rocks ( where this photo was taken ). The second third is the fun downhill part through fields and on rough tracks, for a mile or so there is no need to pedal and we can just freewheel only having to stop for the occasional gate until we get to Burley. The last third is back along the main road to Ilkley.

The ride should only take 30 mins if we did it as a proper fast ride, but we spend the whole bike ride chatting and putting the world to rights without worrying to much about getting out of breath, but then thats what getting out on the bikes is more about for us, it's a social thing and a chance to enjoy the views. Tonight the ride took us about 50 mins but we had fun and got as muddy as always speeding downhill through the feilds.

This is my sixth concecutive blip of evening excercise for me, but it's only because it's that time of year where the nights are begining to quickly draw in and in a few weeks time it wil become more difficult to get out in the evenings after work as it will be to dark to do any of the fun off road routes. I'll have a couple of days off from excercise now and try and blip something a bit different.

As there won't be too many more evening where we can do them this year, today's blip is this evening's .....


..... Slow bike ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.