Woodbury Park Cemetery

Rushing round like a mad thing all day.  At 10 past 4  the garage told me to come back in half an hour because my car was not yet fixed.  Irritated, I set off for a walk round the block to find a coffee shop but saw a sign for a Victorian Cemetery and wandered in.  The information board tells me this was the town cemetery from 1849 to 1870.  It was listed by English Heritage in 2003 "as an early example of a garden cemetery with an informal and imaginative layout of paths in picturesque style that had survived essentially intact. It had extensive C19 tree planting and variety of social and artistic historical interest expressed in a notable collection of monuments."   Jane Austen's "favourite" brother the Rev Henry Austen  is in here but I could not find his grave despite the map on the info board. It was a wonderful peaceful place to wander round, and with all the searching for Rev Henry I  nearly forgot to go back to the garage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.