Hill Top Ramblings

By janepetleyjones

Paris quadrifolia

I was so pleased this morning when I saw my Herb Paris shining in the morning sunlight.
It was newly planted last year, amongst the oak trees, and without any protection from beasties. Last spring it was nibbled by SOMETHING and I was concerned for its future.
However, here it is again, there are more stems over a wider area and it is already fairly tall.
It is an interesting plant, rather than beautiful, with just the four leaves and a little flower in the centre still to open. It is a native British wild flower but very localised and rather rare, and hard to spot amongst other more vigorous neighbours. I know of a site in Lancashire at Gait Barrows but am not sure if it is elsewhere in this region.
Still, you can always come and see it here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.