One day at a time...

By JonRayner

Guest Blip: The Blacksmith

I cannot take credit for this as my father took this shot.
Went to The Abbeydale Industrial Hamlet in Sheffield.  Never been before, but it was a great visit.
The main photo is of the blacksmith who sharpens all the ceremonial swords for the military services.  He is the only one that does it in the UK and does about a 1000 a year.  As my father was in the Navy and has a ceremonial sword, despite a notice to say 'No entry', 'Danger', 'Do not disturb', my father decides to do the opposite of all the notices.  Has a chat with the man and is invited in to the workshop to get this shot.
The venue is a interesting look back into a time forgot, but not all that long ago.  The sword sharpening looks to be an old, but obviously still effective method of sharpening swords.

The additional shots are just my attempts at photography for the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.