I'M A PENSIONER - AND I DON'T CARE

Today is the day I became a State pensioner. AND today is the day I started using my pass for free bus travel. Yay.

Neil wanted to see the Angel of the North up close and decided to walk there. I said I would go too and I travelled by bus. In total I have been on 5 different buses today. Neil's walk to the Angel took around 1 ½ hours - its about 6 miles away.

So he walked and I got the bus and we met at the Angel in the car park. We both had cameras and started taking shots. After I had taken a few photos I tried to look at them but a message came up saying " WRITE ERROR PLEASE CHECK THE CARD". None of the photos I had taken were there. Tried a few more shots - same message. Took card out of my camera and tried it in Neil's - same message. So it was the card at fault not the camera. So we put Neil's memory card in my camera and I continued taking photos. So all was OK in the end - apart from me having a dodgy card. It's strange as I have been using it for ages without any problems.

The weather was nice - sunny and clear but a bit windy. There were quite a few people around the area taking photos of The Angel - lots of them seemed to be Chinese students.

If anyone isn't familiar with the Angel of the North you can learn about it HERE

We decided to go for something to eat before coming home so I got the bus to Low Fell - and Neil walked there. We went to a pub for a late lunch at around 3pm. They had a deal for 2 courses plus a glass of wine for £8.95. So Neil had soup and I had egg and prawn salad for starters. We both had fish, chips and mushy peas for main course and instead of wine we had cola.

Then Neil walked home and I got the bus to Gateshead where I did a bit of shopping. I finally got home around 6.15pm.

Two bits of cat related excitement this evening. Tigerlily got inside one of the carrier bags after I had emptied it of shopping. Valentino was jumping on her and she tried to run off. However she had put her head through the handle of the carrier bag and when she ran off the bag went as well. She got frightened and ran around with the bag trailing after her. The more she ran the more panic stricken she got as the bag was flapping and making a noise. She was running so fast all over the house that I couldn't catch her. So I shouted for Neil to help and eventually we managed to get her to stop and Neil gently got the carrier bag from around her neck. Her little heart was pounding and she stayed in the same place for a while till she calmed down. So next time I'm back from shopping the carrier bags will be put away immediately.

The other bit of excitement concerned Valentino. The doorbell rang this evening at about 8pm. The cats were fast asleep so I didn't shut the lounge door as I usually do. It was my neighbour at the front door and we started chatting. Then Valentino appeared and in a flash he dashed past me and was outside. He has never been out before and was so amazed that he was actually out that he just stood still and let me pick him up. So I held him in my arms outside for a while chatting to the neighbour. After a while Valentino started wanting to be put down so then I put him back indoors.

So a busy day for me and Neil - and an interesting one for the kitties.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.