Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

whiskey a go go

Last day of touring and we were still in the rainforest area. We went back to the park from a few days ago and spent the whole day with the chameleons, geckos and frogs. In the afternoon before we left we walked back into the forest and soon came across the sifakas again. This time I fed one. I know this raises all sorts of conundrums feeding wild animals but we were not in a national park and I justified it in my own mind and something akin to my mother who feeds birds.

I put a bit of banana on my flat hand and held it near one and it came close, gently pulled my hand towards it and took the banana. It was so gentle and so soft. It was such a treat to feed it. We kept walking and came across this group of brown lemurs. While this image doesn't show it, they have very long tails. I called it whiskey a go go because there were a lot of antics going on with this group and their eyes here show a pure whiskey colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.