Today's Special

By Connections

Not Quite the Real Thing...

...but still delightful!

I needed a quick blip today, as I had several long errands to accomplish and want to watch the Democratic National Convention this evening to hear Barack Obama's speech, having enjoyed hearing Michelle Obama on Tuesday evening and Bill Clinton last night.

We were blessed with another gorgeous day, and as I looked at this hummingbird mobile that I gave Phil a couple of years ago, it reminded me of a brief hummingbird event earlier this week. We hadn't had any hummingbirds at our feeders on the front porch for a quite a while, so we took the the feeders down several weeks ago. They'd also been feeding on the flowers in the hanging basket nearby, and even though that seemed to have lost its attraction for the birds, we were still enjoying it, so we kept it up.

A couple of days ago, I happened to be standing at the kitchen window when a female hummingbird suddenly appeared and helped herself to whatever the red flowers in the hanging basket still had to offer! I couldn't help myself -- I said "Hi, it's nice to see you again!" I think she came in just for a quick refueling, as I haven't seen her since.

Until the hummingbirds return in the spring, this tangible reminder of their beauty, agility, and endurance will have to do.

(P.S. My college roommate and her partner are coming on Friday for a brief visit, so I may do a back-blip or two, and probably won't be commenting for a few days.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.