April's Full Pink Moon

We were fortunate to have a big moon with us over the weekend when my husband and I went on our first backpacking trip of the year. The moon provides a lot of light when it's huge like that, and a backpacker might not even need a lantern or a flashlight to see at night, even in the deepest, darkest woods.

The full moon of April is called the Pink Moon because of pink wildflowers that emerge from the ground around this time of year. The moon itself (alas) does not actually appear to be pink.

The moon waxed full about two hours after midnight on this night, and I was out with my camera around 9 pm, enjoying the show from our front porch. (Isn't that convenient?)

Some wispy bits of cloud cover were circling the moon, and I thought they made the show even better. This was pretty close to as big as it was going to get, so I hope you don't mind my taking a bit of license and calling it "full."  :-)

I have used a lot of moon songs already in my blip journal, but here is one I don't think I've used before. It's a somewhat lesser known track from John Mellencamp's 1996 album Mr. Happy Go Lucky: Circling Around the Moon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.