Stitched Together

My long tailed tits are still lining their nest with feathers. I stood and watched them this morning and imagined being a baby bird safe inside rocked by the wind.

After lunch I went out intent on capturing a macro image. It was quite cold and windy and I'd forgotten my own tip. It's much easier to photograph butterflies when it's chilly as they're a bit sluggish. I got some nice images of a speckled wood that seemed to be struggling until I took it carefully in my hand. My body heat soon gave it a boost and off it fluttered.

I found this pair of orange tips motionless on a greater stitchwort flower and photographed them from every possible angle using a variety of settings. Even though I say it myself, I got a lovely set of shots. The sun came out and the male flew off, only to return soon afterwards. He tried to mate with the female. She rejected him. I saw this behaviour last year only yards away from this spot. I took my tee shirt off for use as a backdrop in my first extra pic. :)

Today's poem is Alone by Edgar Allan Poe. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/46477

Shame for EAP that he was orphaned but I think I would have lost patience with him like John Allen, who raised him, did. Poe drank and gambled away money that he constantly asked Allen for. I can identify with Poe's feeling of being different though.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.