BellesMa

By BellesMa

No Ball Games, We're British

These signs always make me a little sad. I wonder if they exist in other countries, or if it's just a British thing to stop children playing ball games in open grassy areas on housing estates. Its not that I'm a huge fan of football, or other ball games. Its just that it makes the space seem so unwelcoming. No fun here! Go play elsewhere!
I think it suits this week's Blip challenge 'Isolated Objects' due to its alienating message. I also think it says a lot that the estate where I spotted this sign today had not a single child outside playing in the street. On a sunny school holiday. Maybe our children are the isolated objects?

https://amp.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2015/jul/02/no-ball-games-haringey-council-children-play-obesity

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.