Suspenseful sky

Yesterday, I looked at the low clouds over the hills beside the Wellington airport and unnecessarily worried that I might be caught in Wellington. Was reassured by finding that every plane from Auckland to Wellington left no more than a quarter hour late, and by seeing all the planes landing regularly. If they can land, they can take off (usually).

Today, we were being told to not drive, to stay home if we could and to await the arrival of ex-tropical Cyclone Cook safely at home. One consequence of this is that lots of people left work early. That included me, as I needed to get a new passport photo taken so that I could submit an application for renewal. I need it before the middle of May. I was able to negotiate with my Director that I didn't need to return.

So far, the winds are gentle and there is little to no rain. The sky looks a little turbulent, and the satellite pictures are rather freaky. Tomorrow morning we plan on heading to Hamilton to do some activities in the Waikato with our daughters and C's two lads. Hope that remains possible.

These are the colours I saw in the sky this evening

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.