Life-Size Wax Figures Depict DaVinci's Last Supper

This wax diorama of the Last Supper is a familiar Santa Cruz attraction; the first time I saw it was in the late 60s. Created in a converted barn in the Santa Cruz mountains over a five year period from 1945-50, and lovingly restored in 1990, the sculpture is now displayed by appointment only at a local mausoleum--except for today, Holy Thursday.  All the photos I took give no sense at all of this being a three dimensional piece. I'm still puzzling over this, and I was reluctant to post because it just looks flat. I'm going with it because I got interested in the back story--the figures were sculpted by the Madame Tussaud of America, LA wax artist Katherine Stubergh (1911-1996). Apparently she was a hot item in Hollywood back in the day, and absolutely everyone was eager to sit for her. If you have time, this article is fascinating. She was quite a gal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.