Weeklies

By JohnZ

My First Kingfisher

What a fantastic morning. I went to the Nature reserve that I have recently become a member of, as I signed in, the ladies behind the desk were telling people about a pair of kingfishers caught fishing at one of the hides yesterday.
When I got to the hide, it was standing room only, after half an hour, the less patient left until there were only three of us remaining. I waited about an hour and was thinking I would give it another 15 minutes then suddenly the kingfisher swooped in front of us and hovered above the water, then perched on an overhanging branch. It flew around for a while, swooped, caught a small fish, came back to the branch and had its dinner.
I took loads of shots, quite a few were out of focus (too excited), the ones with the fish in its mouth were ok, but this was one of my first ever.
Had a great morning. Definitely going back after my Nights block.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.