Steve Dillamore

By Steve_Dillamore

Heron in flight

I was torn today as to which photo to post.

We walked into town along the river this morning. It was very quiet and we were fortunate enough to come across a heron stalking along in the shallows. Surprisingly, I got time to take a couple of lovely photos from quite close to with my phone before he took off. Any of those would have made a nice blip.

But I also fired off a couple of shots as he flew away, including this one.

I really like this picture for some reason. I know there is a lot of "dead space" around it, but that space has texture and gives context. I did try cropping it out of interest to see how it would look but I didn't like the resulting picture half as much.

Lazy afternoon ahead, although I think I'll mow the lawn if I get chance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.