Celebrate Ella 100

The Smithsonian Museum is celebrating the centennial year of the great jazz singer Ella Fitzgerald (1917-1996).  The museum is exhibiting among other things, a rare photo by jazz photographer, William Gottlieb.  The version of the photo above is from Gottlieb's book "The Golden Age of Jazz".  I attended a talk by Gottlieb and another noted jazz photographer, Herman Leonard at Lincoln Center in New York around 2002.  It was really exciting to hear the stories from the jazz world in the mid twentieth century.  Gottlieb even signed my book (something I had forgotten until I got it out and looked to see if the picture was included).  The bass player on the left is Ray Brown (Ella's husband for many years) and the smiley face on the right is the great trumpet player, Dizzy Gillespie.

More HERE! Good stuff!

Sorry for the reflection across the picture.  Sloppy photography (on my part)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.