Photographic Poeticisms

By TerryRhiannyr

Welshman's Return

A Welshman can get out of Wales
But has difficulty getting back
He's made to pay a heavy fine
For wandering off the Dragon track

Us Welsh we're a clever lot
With more than a bit of sense
Our capacity to make a bob or two
Can sometimes be immense

But in truth my head is buzzing
Like it's full to the brim with midges
For I can only ever see the two
Yet I'm told they're the Severn bridges

Dirty great lumps of white concrete
In the form of two twin towers
Looking for all the world like
Something raised by Saurons powers

It stands there so majestically
Gleaming in the bright sunshine
And knowing I'm looking back
Brings peace to this heart of mine

And as I bid a cheery, final adieu
Once more to England's river banks
I turn with heartfelt sigh and
Once more on Welsh soil, I give thanks


Terry Rhiannyr
September, 2012

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.