Blip-meet Japan

A wonderful afternoon with the delightful CharlotteJ and her charming husband Chris. Such a pleasure for Kazuko and I to show them some of the sights around Osaka. First stop, a midday meal of okonomiyaki - an Osaka specialty - in Umaimono Plaza. Pleased to say that Charlotte and Chris loved it.

After lunch we took the Osaka Loop Line to Osaka-jo to view the cherry blossoms around Osaka Castle. Unfortunately, the cherry blossoms are starting to fall now but the castle is impressive nevertheless.

We were going to go to Kaiyukan from Osaka Castle, but time was pushing on so we went for a walk around America Mura and Dotombori instead. America Mura has lost its geeky vibe since last I went there, with all the comic book and S.F./fantasy toy shops being replaced by high-end clothes shops. Shame. Dotombori is still cool, though, with its dizzying array of way out merchandise and signage. I even managed to find a new katana umbrella to replace the one which recently broke.

I was having such a great time with Charlotte, Chris and Kazuko that I never took any photographs. Kazuko took this one, so I will link to CharlotteJ's page for today because I know she took a lot more photographs than me, including one of the elusive Kazuko.

Anyway, a great day. I love Blipfoto for its ability to connect people in this way. I look forward to meeting this wonderful couple again the next time I visit England, whenever that may be.

"Old friends pass away, new friends appear. It is just like the days. An old day passes, a new day arrives. The important thing is to make it meaningful: a meaningful friend - or a meaningful day."  (Dalai Lama)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.