Best in show

These weren't but they were the best I got. Trev and I went over to Nelson to look at the 42nd National Antique Bottles and Collectables show. Always a treat even though I have never been much of a collector myself.
It always amazes me what people collect and the themes and topics they display under. German Bellarmines, ceramics left by Chinese at goldfields, black glass, pink glass, blue glass. Poison bottles from various wars. Codds, flat bottles, miniatures, samplers, Anzac biscuit tins, half dolls- a language all of its own.
I liked the industry related ones especially with a connection locally such as Kirkpatricks Jam, jam jars with some from Motueka branches of firms based in Dunedin and Auckland. Tobacco tins have a strong connection to Motueka being the only place in NZ that grew it.
The collectors have researched their subjects and become authorities on them.Many have produced books and of course many run sales tables.
I have added some extras that reminded me of my childhood. Ipana toothpaste, thermettes, and a word almost unpronouncable.

Haven't got back to blip today so thankyou if you dropped by with a comment or a star.

The weather packed up again today and we have had more rain. My sister in law in Invercargill says they are running out of water in rural areas there and it has been lovely and sunny.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.