stuartjross

By stuartjross

Keyless Entry

A rubbish desk day again in which I became really pushed for time due to a longer than expected "quick" walk this morning.

I sort of gave myself a row a couple of weeks ago for ditching my jacket on a clammy morning setting off up Upper Inverroy when I unwittingly left my phone and car keys in the pocket. It wasn't secretly stashed in a bush or anything as sensible as that; no, in clear view on an elevated tree stump for all to see.

Anyway I joined the girls with Bob, Bruce and Caley at UI this morning and we briskly paced up and down again. There was a short interruption to progress when Bruce got a sniff of poacher discarded deer remains and he went off sideways in to the jungle. With a bit of shouting and "sprachalling" through thick scrub and jaggy forest Mhairi lassooed him before he got to something really disgusting. The walk resumed as planned.

Our car has got one of these keyless entry systems whereby you push the door button and the car unlocks as long as you have the key in your pocket. On return it wouldn't open for Mhairi. The device can often lead to confusion over exactly who has the key and Mhairi thought I must have it on me. No! Mhairi searched her pockets again, more panicky this time. (The jacket had been round her waist for most of the walk) On this second check of the normal key pocket her hand emerged through an enormous hole clearly through which the key had departed some time earlier on the walk.

"Goodness gracious me!"

J took Mhairi back to our house for the spare and I set off up the hill again mindful if it had fallen out in the jungle where Bruce had gone astray earlier it would be impossible to find.

Long story short I was about a hundred yards from the top again when I spotted the key in the middle of the track. I phoned Mhairi to update her. She was already behind me lower down hunting the verges. A quick three mile stretch of the legs had become a six mile tramp.

Anyway this is a snap taken on the way down first time around, Mhairi indeed jacket about her waist blissfully unaware that the key was a mile away on the ground.

I did a wee experiment with PS for this and it actually conveys what it is like when Bob and Caley are whizzing about with their sticks. They are only two dogs but you often feel like you are pandering to the needs of four supersonic labs playing with their sticks and huge logs. I stumbled on the effect by accident but now I will try and get a more deliberate one.

Friday night, time for a glass of wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.