River of Flowers

By doffy

Cherokee Trail of Tears Pole Bean

A friend and fellow gardener gave me 2 seedlings of these beans and after many months of waiting I was able to have a few with my dinner, they are delicious.

There are a few variations of the origin of their name: Real Seeds state that ...

This bean was originally from the native North American Cherokee people.

In 1838 they were driven out of their homelands in the state of Georgia by the US government to make room for more European settlers, a forced march known as the 'Trail of Tears'. This bean is one of their heirlooms they managed to keep with them and has been passed on from generation to generation ever since.



I must apologize for my slowness in commenting the last few days, I've been feeling tired and distracted. Sorry :-(

During yesterday my views passed the 16,000 mark - thank you everyone who visits and to all of you lovely blippers for your lovely comments, the teasing, the stars and faves! :-) x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.