beachgecko

By beachgecko

Taming the Tokay

I've been working on this boy for a week now. He's still a little bit afraid of people, but today we broke molds on his level of acceptance of me.

He's beginning to lick me, he's calm when he sits on my lap, he is tolerating me touching him on his head. As long as he can see what I'm doing, he is totally okay with me.

I love this gecko so much. He's a very special boy. I've been waiting for a male tokay for nearly five years, and one of my good friends was able to fulfill that desire for me by selling me this precious baby.

These guys are so misunderstood. They are pretty defensive and can bite rather hard. I will admit I have a few battle wounds from this guy from this week, but I am more stubborn than he is and determined to tame him down so he knows that people are not a threat and that I love him dearly.

Quite intelligent creatures. It's a shame they kill them in hoards overseas where they are endemic to. For medicine. So sad. These are one of the only species of geckos that has a maternal instinct as well as strong pair bonding behavior. 

His name is Ceylon. I hope to be his equivalent to a pair bond by the end of the month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.