OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

The Horse of Copinsay

Obviously I am going for blocks of shadow here. Another run out to Deerness. I walked along from Lighthouse Corner to Sandside Bay and along the shore to Mull Head reserve. It isn't far but I liked the rocks pushing into the sea and footered around there for a while. I noticed quite a few wheatears- probably not birds who summered here but continental ones heading through for the south. A short-eared owl sprang from the gras only two metres away- too close and fast-moving to photograph, I just enjoyed seeing it. There was a large flock of greylag geese above the hill and I thought I saw two snow geese with them. There are often discussions here re whether such birds are 'true' snow geese or hybrids/escapes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.