A tale of woe

We were supposed to go to a party tonight.

But this morning the sofa nest from yesterday had anew occupant. Steven, who has already had some sort of lurgy this festive season, came down with another type. Fortunately me and the boys were feeling better (actually Ru has felt fine, he's just been keeping us company) so the sofa wasn't too crowded. A party though, was not on the cards.

The invalid requested soup for tea. Never one to turn down the opportunity to spend the afternoon dancing around the kitchen whilst a cauldron bubbles I searched the depths of the cupboards and fridge for ingredients. Broccoli, carrots, onions, garlic, a wedge of stilton, cannelini beans and potatoes emerged and then.... at the back of the freezer I spotted a box of stock.

Now, you know the bit in the scary folktale when the hero/heroine/misguided evil witch does something really stupid, this is I'm afraid is it.

The box of stock was in the top section of the freezer and, due to the freezer needing defrosted, there was an overhanging iceberg at the front. I of course being of determined mind did not for one second think, bugger I'll go find a stock cube. No, no, I decided that if I grabbed hold of the box and banged it repeatedly off the ice that of course the ice would break away, simple.

After the first few slams and tugs, my hands developed frostbite. Did this stop me? Don't be daft! I went in search of a tea towel and with hands thus protected I resumed my quest. Bang, bang, bang. However I didn't look over my shoulder, if I had I would have seen the demon jug which sits on top of the fridge edging ever closer to the edge.

Not until it bounced off my head and smashed to smithereens on the floor!

The screams were enough to get the invalid off the sofa. Fortunately no real damage was done, no blood was spilled and I didn't even blubber like a baby. I do however have a cartoon bump on the back of my head and the stock is still buried in the ice.

Despite all adversity the soup eventually got made and it tasted damn good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.