Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

King Of The Road

Spent the last two days "training" my son on how to rule the road with his birthday present........ The Rising Fighter. Built by Tuttle Jnr himself.

Amazing how things have "moved on" in the world of R/C cars. Notably the rechargeable battery packs which can, erm, pack a lot more charge in them than the ones we had in the late 80's. And the speed controllers are all electronic now, and are much smaller too. Ironically the 2WD Rising Fighter car shown here is basically a modified Hornet, which was "the car" to have as a beginner back in the mid-80's. The Hornet was my first car.

Naturally I brought my 4WD (1988) Thunder Dragon out to play today, which ran remarkably well considering the length of hibernation it went through in my garage. We were able to race each other at the local college carpark thanks to the bank holiday traffic and the different radio frequencies on our radio transmitters. Tuttle Jnr seemed to pick it up quite quickly and took it easy by rarely going max speed (I kept asking if his battery was going as a result), which impressed me as I don't recall doing that myself when my brother & I started all those years ago. In other words we broke a lot of parts in the process, much to the annoyance to our Dad who kept saying "Noooo" to next weeks pocket money!!

Back to reality tomorrow for me as work mean work means pennies means more spare parts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.