Media

I had 45 minutes in downtown Edinburgh this evening in between my train arriving and the business networking event I was attending. Blip hunting...

So, I got Princes St Gardens, the National Gallery and the Castle, all in 1 shot. But there is more to this than meets the eye...

The key is the flags on top of the gallery - the Union one and ours. Why?

I was driving somewhere when the BBC Radio Scotland news came on at 2.30 today. It featured an item about Jim McColl of Clyde Blowers endorsing a "yes" vote in the independence referendum.

He was described as the founder of one of Scotland's most successful companies, or words along those lines.

I heard the 4.30 bulletin as I drove to the station. Suddenly poor Jim had become a Monaco based millionaire (or words to that effect). A nasty, rich tax exile, in other words.

Clearly someone had told someone else to re-write the item.

Folk north of the border can get agitated about media bias, and sometimes I wonder if it's a kind of persecution complex. I have to thank the BBC for proving that the national psyche is quite healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.