OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

This hill is not being sponsored by a coffee chain. I think I tried to find the origin of the name and failed to do so.I got the bus to Birsay and walked up to the top of Costa Hill and then onto the palace. This is now part of the St Magnus Way, but no-one else was on it today. There didn't seem to be anything in the way of new stiles etc. just marker posts and little symbols on fence-posts.A while since I walked this route- there is a new mast there- I thought it a telecom tower but it is actually a meteorological mast and only there for 18 months. The steel cables holding it up look deadly for birds but the herring gulls only objected to my presence. Coffee down at the Oyce out of the chily wind and then on to the village. Birds included- 1st puffin of the season, a summer-plumage great northern diver, 5 wheatears, 2 bonxies, 100s of guillemot, and the first swallows of the season for me- 5 at the palace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.