*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Mollusc

Went on the Tapton Lock Coffee Shop Walk today with Moo and Holly. It was featured in the spring edition of The Cuckoo (the magazine of the Chesterfield Canal Trust, which I'm a member of.) As soon as I saw it, I wanted to do it, mainly to see this artwork :)

It's called Mollusc, also known as The Snail, by Nottingham-based artist Liz Lemon. According to The Cuckoo, "Its spiralling form echoes the casings of the huge water-turbines once made at the Markham works and the fossils found in the coal measures."  It was impressive.

The walk also took us through Tapton Park, somewhere I've never been before. It was a little gem. George Stephenson lived at Tapton House from 1838 - 1848 and now the house is part of Chesterfield College. I was almost falling over my own feet to quickly get there to photograph the blue plaque :)

All-in-all it was my sort of photographic walk - combining two things I love - railway and canal history.

Travelling back home later this evening. It's been a nice little break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.