The Lock

When we got home today the front door lock refused to open. Since we only have one door this was fairly serious but after a few minutes and the use of some carefully choreographed force the lock suddenly opened and we were able to get into our house.
After a little experimentation we got the lock out of the door and opened it up. This is what it looks like.
I slowly took it to pieces, photographing each stage so I'd know the order in which to reassemble it, and where each piece and spring went. The extra shows it fully disassembled. Then it all got a much needed  thorough clean and I put it back together, reversing through the photographs I'd taken earlier.
It worked, and it worked much better than before!
I am impressed by the simplicity, strength, and reliability of this lock. It's been in place over 40 years and this is the first time it's given any trouble in the 32 years we have lived here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.