Mother Goose

How delightful to spot a pair of Canada geese and their six goslings launching themselves into our neighbour's lake this morning. I spent a very pleasurable time watching and photographing them in the beautifully sunny but cold weather. The geese kept a close eye on a pair of coots, they'll take young birds if they get the chance. 

My pleasure turned to shock and sadness. Something, maybe a crow, magpie, jay or squirrel has ransacked my long tailed tits' nest. :( (Extras)

Today's poem is More Poems VII by AE Housman. http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/407341-stars-i-have-seen-them-fall-but-when-they-drop

Luckily I'm not like the poet, I don't think of life as unpleasant, futile and meaningless. A pair of long-tailed-tits were zep-zepping together in the blackthorn hedge, I like to think, looking for a new nest site. :)     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.