Weston Park

Today I went to Weston Park with my art group. We'd gone to see an exhibition by Birmingham Watercolour Artists and the quality of their work was outstanding.

Some of us took a picnic but those that ate in the restaurant waited an hour for their very expensive food. When it arrived the quality was terrible and they ended up having it for nothing. Some were so fed up that they went straight home without seeing house or garden and the others had to rush around. I went round the grounds but it was disappointing as there were very few flowers out (daffs were dead and others not out). It was not our best trip!

My grandfather was a cook instructor in the army in WW2 and when the war finished Lord Bradford of Weston Park (who was Grandad's commanding officer) wanted him to go to the stately home as his personal chef but my grandma wouldn't go. They might have had an easier life if they'd done so!

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.