Abstract Thursday: "Capillary Action"

It's a while since I've done Abstract Thursday, and I thought I'd give it a go this week.

I had this idea in my head... I would take a shot of a single tree, looking up, then twirl it (or several versions of it, in different colours, along its length) to create a twisty abstract.

I expanded the canvas quite a bit to give myself space to fling some twisty things around, then I made the surprising discovery that Photoshop's "twirl" filter doesn't work on large images. I could have shrunk it back to normal size, but instead I took the hint and decided on a different approach.

I cleared down the background and distracting details, made two copies of the tree image, colourised one to red and one to blue, mapped each to polar coordinates, rotated one 180 degrees and played around with blending modes. The one I ended up using is "difference".

(And after all that, I discovered that this week Abstract Thursday has the theme "monochrome" - oops!! But at least it's an optional theme, so I've (unintentionally) opted myself out.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.