Warm today...

...yet dull dark clouds.

I don't know if it is the grey heaviness that makes me feel tired, or the high pollen count affecting my asthma. No energy.

At art group this afternoon. Couldn't be bothered doing anything. So one of them gave me a postcard of a picture she had picked up several of while on holiday this Easter Weekend.

So I got some normal writing black gel type pens from my bag and started scribbling on White Bristol board. It is just white paper that is not absorbent. The black pen I liked the best ran out half way through the picture...this is the one that turns greenish when water is added to it with a brush pen that holds water. I really liked that green effect. So I was sad when it ran out.

I picked up another black gel pen, but it was a bit too black for my liking. To me the black wasn't interesting enough when water was added to it. Then that one ran out. So I reached for another black pen and did a bit of scribble which turned pinkish on the left side of the drawing when water was added to it...pink!...oh no, I felt my drawing was spoilt...but a few minutes later I thought well maybe it adds a bit of interest.

So I added a few more bits of the black pen that turns purply-pink when water is added.

Of course I got skitted as being the only person they knew who had no interest in painting that day, yet could still produce something of good and of interest. All in good fun :)

But seriously, I had no interest in anything today. Yet I find this drawing fascinated me because of the different behaviours of black writing inks when water is applied to them.

So if you see a bent over old lady in an office supplies shop with a pad of paper and a water filled paintbrush testing the different effects of their black pen supplies...that will be me...searching for a black pen that turns green when water is applied to it. The current black pen, I liked that ran out is more than 17 years old. I just fished it out of a drawer to use it up. I had no idea of the talents that lay within that old pen.

So, this is my pic for today for my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.