Two flags on the campus

I am delivering a lecture on Brexit here tomorrow , "here" being University College Cork. It is probably 20 years since I was in the city which after a tough recession, seems to be prospering.

This afternoon I called on the Vice Principal, Professor John 'O'Halloran , who was keen that I blipped not just a picture of the University and its beautiful campus but especially of the Irish and Scottish flags flying alongside each other on the tower , which was a thoughtful visual gesture to honour my visit.

So here they are, although the weather was if anything too kind and there wasn't a breath of wind to prove the point. Nor was there any later as I had my picture taken with Irish Europe Minister Dara Murphy by the River Lee in Cork, his home city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.