littlemissquirk

By littlemissquirk

Review

Moving house you got to review a lot of things. Painful and valuable at the same time.
Today I went through the task of reviewing my entire life's worth of paraphernalia collected as memories from my parents wedding photos ( rescued from their bin of divorce), my childhood letters to penpals, photos, little nicknacks with sentiment attached, you know the stuff.
Took me the whole day as I mapped in all in order of time , Home, Uni, 90s , prekids, kids and then recent. It's not often you get such a review of your life and see the patterns emerging of who you were, who you became and why. Some painful lessons and recognition that some of the same hurts still echo thirty years or so later.
The valuable lesson of all of this is realising I've been given a fork in the road and can choose who to keep as passengers on my. party bus and who are the annoying ones up the back. Tough lesson cos the ones you thought would be good for you, not always invited, can cause the most harm.
So as I go through this process, more and more I realise that for however sore it feels, the result will be healthy for my heart and mind and look forward to the days of less clutter, physical, mental and emotional.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.