West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Beach cleaning

Between the world’s most uncomfortable camp bed and listening to strange noises in the jungle, I didn’t sleep well. Everyone in camp gets up late because everyone has been on patrol at some point during the night. News in the morning was that the patrol after mine saw a turtle. She came out of the water, started digging a nest, then gave up and went back to sea.

In the afternoon we did a beach clean up of the second beach we patrol. These are just a few of the rubbish sacks we filled up, mostly with plastic bottles, bits of polystyrene, and assorted debris from fishing boats. After that we went snorkelling. I’ve only snorkelled once before and not for long enough to get past the fear that if I take a breath through the snorkel, I’ll get a lung full of water. I started getting the hang of it after a while and saw some corals and lots of colourful fish but I didn’t see any of the baby black tipped sharks that they were looking for.


After a quick drink at the resort, we went back to camp for dinner and an early night. I set my alarm for 2.50am as I was on the 3-4am patrol.


(Attempting to upload this for the 3rd day in a row. Connection is very limited and it hasn't worked so far.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.